Scott Kiloby, Remez Sasson, Joan Tollifson: three pointers to the simplicity of the answer to “What is Nonduality?”

The more I read of Scott Kiloby’s ‘Reflections of the One Life’ the more I appreciate its good sense.

‘Delaying the Simple Recognition of Presence

It is easy to turn non-duality into a philosophy or spiritual path leading to some future attainment. The mind gets preoccupied in the drive to understand non-duality conceptually or to have a powerful spiritual experience or shift.

Turning the realization to which these words are pointing into a philosophy or spiritual path is an act of mental reductionism. These words are pointing to simple presence, which is available only now. This presence is not a thought or a goal in time. Thoughts and goals arise from presence.

Although the recognition that presence is what you are may happen gradually, the only point of entry — so to speak — is this moment.

The recognition is apparently delayed by trying to figure out non-duality through thought and by seeking some future attainment of it. The recognition is only available when focus turns away from trying to mentally grasp spiritual awakening and chase future attainment, and towards the simple presence that is aware of what is arising right now.

In seeing what is arising now, it appears that identification with spiritual ideas and goals delays or obscures presence. This presence is immediately available as the very life that you are before you try to grasp what that means conceptually or reach towards some future experience. In reality, that presence cannot be truly delayed or obscured by anything because it is appearing as everything, including as every thought and goal.’~ From: Reflections of the One Life, by Scott Kiloby http://www.kiloby.com/

COMMENT: It’s so simple – why does it take us so long for the penny to drop?

THE GEDDIT FACTOR: The geddit (get it?) factor has intrigued me for some time.

My own geddit has been a series of steps. I remember reading a beautiful passage by Ken Wilber.

Rupert Spira was a big step – and his teacher and teacher’s teacher.

Joan Tollifson was another big step – summed up in two things. Firstly the name of her website ‘The Simplicity of What Is’. Secondly the definition of meditation “Moment-to-moment presence that excludes nothing and sticks to nothing.”

The simplest of all arrived very recently, recently – inspired by a fine piece ‘What Is Nonduality?’ by Remez Sasson http://www.lookwithinyou.com/what-is-nonduality/

Out of that came;

When the heart-mind is quietened, there is only Oneness.
When the heart-mind is quietened, there is only Oneness.
When the heart-mind is quietened, there is only Oneness.

There is
no me and what I’m contemplating.
No me or her or him or them
No “me and the body”, “me and my mind” “me and the Spirit”- just Oneness.
No “me and ego” – just Oneness

When the heart-mind is quietened, there is only Oneness.
When the heart-mind is quietened, there is only Oneness.
When the heart-mind is quietened, there is only Oneness.

The one line, ‘When the heart-mind is quietened, there is only Oneness.’ is the most perfect, simple definition yet. It includes part of the how quiet (silence and stillness). Put it together with Joan’s “Moment-to-moment presence that excludes nothing and sticks to nothing.” and the how is complete;

“Moment-to-moment presence that excludes nothing and sticks to nothing. ‘When the heart-mind is quietened, there is only Oneness.’ – or should the sequence of the two sentences be reversed?

You will note how I have differed from Remez Sasson – heart-mind instead of just mind and quietened instead of silenced.

When the heart-mind is quietened, there is only Oneness.

-0-

Although I’ve bought Scott’s book I greatly appreciate receiving the daily mailout from Peter’s Pearls in Australia.

If you would like to receive Peter’s mailouts drop him a line – Inquiries: omniread@iinet.net.au

Peter’s wbsite is here – Web Site: http://www.peterspearls.com.au

Author: Roger - Dr Roger Prentice

Now I write, teach & coach mainly about interfaith as inter-spirituality - and how we can grow closer to our True Self. . As anyone who knows anything about IPF will realize my energy is curtailed - so I am concentrating primarily on 'inter-spirituality'. . In the past I would have said that: . 1) I run courses and give talks at conferences and in universities and colleges in the UK, China, USA, Canada, Scandinavia etc. . 2) I provide materials, outlines and lessons for Schools. . 3) My range of interests include personal development, learning and teaching, photography and film, the arts generally, spirituality and educational practice and theory. . 4) At the same time I continue developing the human-centred studies SunWALK PDS (People Development System) - a whole-person, high-achievement model for individuals, and for use in, NGOs, schools and other organizations. . 5) The key question that continues to animate me and my work remains, "What is it to be fully and positively human?" . Contact me via onesummit AT gmail DOT com (replace At with@ etc.). . All good wishes Roger (Dr Roger Prentice) . For those interested; My first degree is in English and Education. My masters is in Adult and Community Education. My doctorate presented a new holistic meta-model of education called SunWALK.

Leave a Reply

