The Youness of You and The Seer, the Seeing and the Seen – inspiration on nonduality from Scott Kiloby

‘The ‘Youness of You’ and ‘The Seer, the Seeing and the Seen’ – inspiration on nonduality from Scott Kiloby’

Scott Kiloby refers to his work as ‘freedom through non-dual recognition’. I like the crispness of that!

The statement below is by Scott Kiloby (I have added the numbering).

1 The dream self is created from identification with objects that arise. For example, you might think, “I am angry,” or “It’s a dreadful day.” But look more closely.

2 If you can see a thought, is that thought you? If you can see an emotion, is it you?

3 You are the seer, not the objects seen.

4 That which is seen is an object that arises and disappears — comes and goes — a temporary form.

5 You are That which is looking at those objects as they arise and disappear, come and go etc.

6 Even the notion that there is ‘a seer’ as a separate identity is an object (an idea) in awareness. In looking inward, there is no separate entity there. There is only awareness recognizing awareness.

7 Awareness is not an object. Your true identity is pure seeing itself.

8 This can be fearful if there is a desire to hold onto some identity. But it is absolutely liberating if you see that even that fear is an object in awareness.

9 Suffering happens when you believe that you are your thoughts and emotions. In reality, you are not angry. Anger is arising. It’s not actually a dreadful day. The thought, “It’s a dreadful day” is arising in awareness.

10 This isn’t about denying or suppressing thought and emotion. It is about seeing them for what they really are. ~ From: Reflections of the One Life, Sep. 4, by Scott Kiloby http://www.kiloby.com

I LOVE HOW POPULAR SONGS SPEAK ELOQUENTLY ABOUT SPIRITUAL AS WELL AS EARTHLY LOVE

Very little needs changing in this wonderful song to get it to refer to Divine love;

I coined the phrase ‘the youness of you’ as a response to the theme of Scott’s teaching – you can sing it to the tune ‘The Nearness of You’ Lots of Laughter!

‘The Nearness of You’ – by Hoagy Carmichael

It’s not the pale moon that excites me
That thrills and delights me, oh no
It’s just the nearness of you

It isn’t your sweet conversation
That brings this sensation, oh no
It’s just the nearness of you

When you’re in my arms and I feel you so close to me
All my wildest dreams come true

I need no soft lights to enchant me
If you’ll only grant me the right
To hold you ever so tight
And to feel in the night the nearness of you (SEE BELOW for Rod Stewart’s version!)

MANY THANKS TO Peter and Pearl in Australia who send out a daily email that introduced me to Scott’s teaching. You can sign up as well – Inquiries: omniread@iinet.net.au – Web Site: http://www.peterspearls.com.au

-0-

The ‘earthy’ Rod Stewart’s version of ‘The Nearness of You’!

Author: Roger - Dr Roger Prentice

Now I write, teach & coach mainly about interfaith as inter-spirituality - and how we can grow closer to our True Self. . As anyone who knows anything about IPF will realize my energy is curtailed - so I am concentrating primarily on 'inter-spirituality'. . In the past I would have said that: . 1) I run courses and give talks at conferences and in universities and colleges in the UK, China, USA, Canada, Scandinavia etc. . 2) I provide materials, outlines and lessons for Schools. . 3) My range of interests include personal development, learning and teaching, photography and film, the arts generally, spirituality and educational practice and theory. . 4) At the same time I continue developing the human-centred studies SunWALK PDS (People Development System) - a whole-person, high-achievement model for individuals, and for use in, NGOs, schools and other organizations. . 5) The key question that continues to animate me and my work remains, "What is it to be fully and positively human?" . Contact me via onesummit AT gmail DOT com (replace At with@ etc.). . All good wishes Roger (Dr Roger Prentice) . For those interested; My first degree is in English and Education. My masters is in Adult and Community Education. My doctorate presented a new holistic meta-model of education called SunWALK.

Leave a Reply

