Please ‘like our re launched FACEBOOK PAGE https…

Please ‘like our re-launched FACEBOOK PAGE – https://www.facebook.com/PerennialPhilosophyQuestions/

-0-

MATTHEW FOX, THOMAS MERTON, DR SUZUKI, MEISTER ECKHART, NONDUALISM & THE MYSTICAL TRADITION

1 Matthew Fox in an interview says; “One of my main works or accomplishments was recovering the mystical tradition of Christianity. For example, I was the first one to translate Eckhart into English from the critical edition, and provide a commentary on it.

2 In fact, it was through a Hindu – not through Christianity – that I discovered Eckhart. It was Suzuki, the Japanese Buddhist, who alerted Thomas Merton, the Catholic monk, to Meister Eckhart.

3 In 1959, they had a dialogue on Buddhism and Christianity, and Suzuki threw up his hands and said “Merton, you’re a typical Western dualist. There’s only one outside chance you’ll get Zen, and that is to read the one Zen thinker of the West, Meister Eckhart.” And Merton said, “But Eckhart was condemned by the church.” And Suzuki said, “Well, I can’t help that, can I?”

4 So in 1960, Merton went off and did nothing but read Zen and Meister Eckhart, and it totally changed him. You can see his writings from the ’50s to the ’60s – he became very prophetic in the ’60s, and he was the first religious figure who came out before Dr. King against the Vietnam War.

5 Merton is the one who sent me to Paris to study spirituality, and it’s there that I got the creation spiritual tradition named for me by Pere Chenu, a wonderful French Dominican who is the father of liberation theology and creation spirituality.

6 The year I was expelled from the Dominican Order of the Catholic Church by the Pope, they also expelled Leonardo Boff, who is a liberation theologian and the most read Catholic theologian in Latin America. And they expelled Eugene Drewermann, the most read Catholic priest theologian in Germany.

7 Clearly it was not a good year for theologians, but there was obviously a political purpose in all this. By getting the three most visible Catholic priest theologians on three continents, they were sending a message of fear and control. It was theological downsizing.”
FROM: Original blessings: An interview with Matthew Fox By Ravi Dykema – http://www.mcs.ca/vitalspark/2020_schools/312crtn03.html (My paragraphing and numbering – Roger_

PEOPLE MENTIONED IN THE EXTRACT

THOMAS MERTON – http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Thomas_Merton

D T SUZUKI – http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/D._T._Suzuki

MEISTER ECKHART – http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Meister_Eckhart

CHENU – http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Marie-Dominique_Chenu

DREWERMANN – http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Eugen_Drewermann

MATTHEW FOX – http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Creation_Spirituality

Author: Roger - Dr Roger Prentice

Now I write, teach & coach mainly about interfaith as inter-spirituality - and how we can grow closer to our True Self. . As anyone who knows anything about IPF will realize my energy is curtailed - so I am concentrating primarily on 'inter-spirituality'. . In the past I would have said that: . 1) I run courses and give talks at conferences and in universities and colleges in the UK, China, USA, Canada, Scandinavia etc. . 2) I provide materials, outlines and lessons for Schools. . 3) My range of interests include personal development, learning and teaching, photography and film, the arts generally, spirituality and educational practice and theory. . 4) At the same time I continue developing the human-centred studies SunWALK PDS (People Development System) - a whole-person, high-achievement model for individuals, and for use in, NGOs, schools and other organizations. . 5) The key question that continues to animate me and my work remains, "What is it to be fully and positively human?" . Contact me via onesummit AT gmail DOT com (replace At with@ etc.). . All good wishes Roger (Dr Roger Prentice) . For those interested; My first degree is in English and Education. My masters is in Adult and Community Education. My doctorate presented a new holistic meta-model of education called SunWALK.

Leave a Reply

