OUSTING THE STRANGER Am I right in thinking…

OUSTING THE STRANGER

Am I right in thinking that the first two lines I quoted in a recent post are incredibly profound?

‘You control anything conscious.
Anything unconscious controls you.’

They seem to me to contain the essence of so much including;

1) the nature of self-knowledge
2) the need to accept (but control) our animal nature – the first step to controlling is admitting!
3) the need to strengthen the witness in unitive meditation
4) the need to not fight the ‘shadow side’ but to welcome it as part of the whole of God’s teaching package, and to offer it up – not chase it or resist it or fight with it or use it as evidence of our wretchedness with which to beat ourselves up. This technique allows us to hoover the basement, & thereby transcend the lower self. This is what enables us to ‘oust the stranger’ as in the Baha’i Hidden Word;

27. O SON OF DUST!
All that is in heaven and earth I have ordained for thee, except the human heart, which I have made the habitation of My beauty and glory; yet thou didst give My home and dwelling to another than Me; and whenever the manifestation of My holiness sought His own abode, a stranger found He there, and, homeless, hastened unto the sanctuary of the Beloved. Notwithstanding I have concealed thy secret and desired not thy shame.

Also from Baha’i writings there this; the heart is ‘the seat of the revelation of the inner mysteries of God’,

For many breath is the key support in the overall meditative cleansing process – as Thich Nhat Hanh says, “Breath is my anchor.”

-0-
THE PREVIOUS POST

‘You control anything conscious.

Anything unconscious controls you.’

For me we take rest in at-one-ment but we are intended to enjoy life via the Ten Thousand Things ,
as well in
at-one-ment.

The two, for us are equally important – like two wings for a bird to fly – the one wing that keeps the mindfulness, the repeated touching base with the Whole, in which our assertive lower self is quietened. The other wing is the unending g
lories
of the world of duality, The Kingdom of Names, the ‘Ten Thousand things’. The two are the yin and yang that enable us to grow in consciousness. Both are indispensable.

Language, thought, concepts dialogue are the yang without which there would be no development of our consciousness.

The great Master Dogen said,

“To study the Buddha Way is to study the self,

to study the self is to forget the self, and

to forget the self is to be enlightened by the ten thousand things.”
To be enlightened by the ten thousand things is to recognize the unity of the self and the ten thousand things.

Author: Roger - Dr Roger Prentice

Now I write, teach & coach mainly about interfaith as inter-spirituality - and how we can grow closer to our True Self. . As anyone who knows anything about IPF will realize my energy is curtailed - so I am concentrating primarily on 'inter-spirituality'. . In the past I would have said that: . 1) I run courses and give talks at conferences and in universities and colleges in the UK, China, USA, Canada, Scandinavia etc. . 2) I provide materials, outlines and lessons for Schools. . 3) My range of interests include personal development, learning and teaching, photography and film, the arts generally, spirituality and educational practice and theory. . 4) At the same time I continue developing the human-centred studies SunWALK PDS (People Development System) - a whole-person, high-achievement model for individuals, and for use in, NGOs, schools and other organizations. . 5) The key question that continues to animate me and my work remains, "What is it to be fully and positively human?" . Contact me via onesummit AT gmail DOT com (replace At with@ etc.). . All good wishes Roger (Dr Roger Prentice) . For those interested; My first degree is in English and Education. My masters is in Adult and Community Education. My doctorate presented a new holistic meta-model of education called SunWALK.

Leave a Reply

