“Sharpness is a bourgeois concept ” Henri Cartier…

“Sharpness is a bourgeois concept.” – Henri Cartier-Bresson

“It is an illusion that photos are made with the camera, they are made with the eye, heart & head.” – Henri Cartier-Bresson

“Great photography is about depth of feeling, not depth of field.” – Peter Adams

Author: Roger - Dr Roger Prentice

Now I write, teach & coach mainly about interfaith as inter-spirituality - and how we can grow closer to our True Self. . As anyone who knows anything about IPF will realize my energy is curtailed - so I am concentrating primarily on 'inter-spirituality'. . In the past I would have said that: . 1) I run courses and give talks at conferences and in universities and colleges in the UK, China, USA, Canada, Scandinavia etc. . 2) I provide materials, outlines and lessons for Schools. . 3) My range of interests include personal development, learning and teaching, photography and film, the arts generally, spirituality and educational practice and theory. . 4) At the same time I continue developing the human-centred studies SunWALK PDS (People Development System) - a whole-person, high-achievement model for individuals, and for use in, NGOs, schools and other organizations. . 5) The key question that continues to animate me and my work remains, "What is it to be fully and positively human?" . Contact me via onesummit AT gmail DOT com (replace At with@ etc.). . All good wishes Roger (Dr Roger Prentice) . For those interested; My first degree is in English and Education. My masters is in Adult and Community Education. My doctorate presented a new holistic meta-model of education called SunWALK.

3 thoughts on ““Sharpness is a bourgeois concept ” Henri Cartier…”

    1. Thanks for your q.

      Q. “Sharpness is a bourgeois concept.” What does that mean?

      My answer;

      This might be a way in;

      BOURGEOIS: As to ‘bourgeois’ I think of it as the difference between what the Royal Photographic Society ( and the numerous local photography societies) focus on – primarily the technical and what art school and artists focus on, where photographic technique is a means not an end. They don’t worship the technical – it is the servant not the master of what they do.

      AS TO THE CONCEPT/s:
      “Photographers as a group are pretty hung-up on sharpness. I’m no exception. Unfortunately for some seeking the holy grail of ultimate image sharpness becomes a substitute for creating interesting and worthwhile photographs. Since the concept of sharpness is a means, not an end it itself, I thought it worthwhile to look at what is meant by the word sharpness as used in photography.
      It actually consists of two separate concepts resolution and acutance.
      With this article I hope to explain these two concepts and the role each plays in our perception of what is sharp…………….” SOURCE – http://www.luminous-landscape.com/tutorials/sharpness.shtml

      Like

Leave a Reply

