Quotations from the Illuminated Rumi The minute…

Quotations from the Illuminated Rumi

“The minute I heard my first love story, I started looking for you, not knowing how blind that was. Lovers don’t finally meet somewhere. They’re in each other all along.”

“Reason is the shadow cast by God; God is the sun.”

“God turns you from one feeling to another and teaches by means of opposites, so that you will have two wings to fly, not one.”

“If you are irritated by every rub, how will you be polished?”

“O, happy is the soul that saw its own faults.”

“Let the beauty of what you love be what you do.”

“I want a heart which is split, part by part, because of the pain of separation from God, so that I might explain my longing and complaint to it.”

“All day, I think about it; then at night I say it. Where did I come from, and what am I supposed to be doing? I have no idea. My soul is from elsewhere; I’m sure of that, and I intend to end up there.”

“Silence is an ocean. Speech is a river.”

“It may be that the satisfaction I need depends on my going away, so that when I’ve gone and come back, I’ll find it at home.”

“Something opens our wings. Something makes boredom and hurt disappear. Someone fills the cup in front of us: We taste only sacredness.”

“The breeze at dawn has secrets to tell you; Don’t go back to sleep. You must ask for what you really want; Don’t go back to sleep. People are going back and forth across the doorsill where the two worlds touch. The door is round and open. Don’t go back to sleep.”

“This is love: to fly toward a secret sky, to cause a hundred veils to fall each moment. First to let go of life. Finally, to take a step without feet.”

“Only from the heart can you touch the sky.”

“Observe the wonders as they occur around you. Don’t claim them. Feel the artistry moving through and be silent.”

“We come spinning out of nothingness, scattering stars like dust.”

“I died a mineral, and became a plant. I died a plant and rose an animal. I died an animal, and I was man. Why should I fear? When was I less by dying?”

“Silence is the language of God; all else is poor translation.

Author: Roger - Dr Roger Prentice

Now I write, teach & coach mainly about interfaith as inter-spirituality - and how we can grow closer to our True Self. . As anyone who knows anything about IPF will realize my energy is curtailed - so I am concentrating primarily on 'inter-spirituality'. . In the past I would have said that: . 1) I run courses and give talks at conferences and in universities and colleges in the UK, China, USA, Canada, Scandinavia etc. . 2) I provide materials, outlines and lessons for Schools. . 3) My range of interests include personal development, learning and teaching, photography and film, the arts generally, spirituality and educational practice and theory. . 4) At the same time I continue developing the human-centred studies SunWALK PDS (People Development System) - a whole-person, high-achievement model for individuals, and for use in, NGOs, schools and other organizations. . 5) The key question that continues to animate me and my work remains, "What is it to be fully and positively human?" . Contact me via onesummit AT gmail DOT com (replace At with@ etc.). . All good wishes Roger (Dr Roger Prentice) . For those interested; My first degree is in English and Education. My masters is in Adult and Community Education. My doctorate presented a new holistic meta-model of education called SunWALK.

Leave a Reply

